Home  :  Directory  :  Transparency Seal

"The National Police Commission (Filipino: Pambansang Komisyon ng Pulisya), abbreviated as NAPOLCOM, is an attached agency of the Department of the Interior and Local Government responsible for the administration and control of the Philippine National Police (PNP). It has the authority to administer police entrance examination, to investigate police anomalies and irregularities, and to summarily dismiss erring police officers."

The NAPOLCOM traces its roots from the creation of the Police Commission (POLCOM) under Republic Act 4864 (Police Act of 1966). It was reorganized as the National Police Commission (NAPOLCOM) in 1972. The NAPOLCOM was under the Office of the President before being transferred to the Ministry of National Defense in 1975 by virtue of Presidential Decree 765 (Police Integration Law). In 1980, the agency was returned to the Office of the President by Executive Order No. 1040. In 1990, with the establishment of the Philippine National Police (PNP), the present NAPOLCOM was created within the newly reorganized Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) under Republic Act No. 6975. The agency's authority was further strengthened and expanded by Republic Act No. 8551, otherwise known as 'Philippine National Police Reform and Reorganization Act of 1998'.

The NAPOLCOM as a collegial body is composed of an ex-officio chairperson, four (4) regular Commissioners, and the PNP Chief as ex-officio member, one of whom is designated by the President as the vice-chairperson. The DILG Secretary is the ex-officio chairperson, while the vice-chairperson is the executive officer of the Commission. The ex-officio chairperson and four (4) Commissioners constitute the Commission Proper which serves as the governing body of NAPOLCOM. The incumbent chairperson is DILG Secretary Eduardo M. Aņo. The NAPOLCOM also has Disciplinary Appellate Boards and various Staff Services as well as seventeen (17) Regional Offices which are strategically located in the different regional divisions of the country.


  • Maguindanao del Norte
  • Maguindanao del Sur
  • Lanao Del Sur
  • Basilan
  • Sulu
  • Tawi - Tawi
  • Cotabato City
All Rights Reserved
National Police Commission - BARMM